## LA JOLLA PLAYHOUSE ANNOUNCES FULL CAST AND CREATIVE TEAM FOR WORLD PREMIERE OF *DIANA*

## Jeanna de Waal Joined by Acclaimed Actors Erin Davie, Roe Hartrampf and Judy Kaye for Highly-Anticipated New Musical Featuring Multiple Tony Award-Winning Design Team

La Jolla, CA – La Jolla Playhouse is pleased to announce the full cast and creative team for its upcoming world-premiere musical *Diana*, from the Tony Award-winning Memphis creative team of **Joe DiPietro** (librettist/lyricist), **David Bryan** (composer/lyricist) and Playhouse Artistic Director and 2017 Tony Award recipient **Christopher Ashley** (director), along with Tony Award nominee **Kelly Devine** (choreographer) and Ian Eisendrath (music supervisor). The production will run in the Playhouse's Mandell Weiss Theatre **February 19 – April 7, 2019**.

As previously announced, **Jeanna de Waal** (Broadway's *Kinky Boots*, *American Idiot*) will portray the role of "Diana." Joining her will be **Erin Davie** (Playhouse/Broadway's *Side Show*) as "Camilla Parker Bowles," **Roe Hartrampf** (Off-Broadway's *Bad Guys*) as "Prince Charles" and Tony Award winner **Judy Kaye** (Broadway's *The Phantom of the Opera*) as "Queen Elizabeth," along with ensemble members **Holly Ann Butler**, **Taylor Coleman**, **Eric Coles**, **Bruce Dow**, **Evan Duff**, **Madison Noelle Hall**, **Shaye Hopkins**, **Nicole Javier**, **Justin Keats**, **Gareth Lucas Keegan**, **Nathan Lucrezio**, **Tomas Matos**, **Allyn Moriyon**, **Lauren Livia Muehl**, **Jamen Nanthakumar**, **Enrico Nassi**, **Katheryne Penny**, **Lindsay Roberts**, **Tara Shoemaker** and **Bethany Ann Tesarck**.

The creative team features Tony Award winner **David Zinn** (Broadway's *SpongeBob SquarePants*, Playhouse's A Dram of Drummhicit, Peer Gynt), Scenic Designer; Tony Award winner **William Ivey Long** (Broadway's Cinderella, Grey Gardens; Playhouse's Herringbone), Costume Designer; Tony Award winner **Natasha Katz** (Broadway's An American in Paris, Frozen), Lighting Designer; Tony Award nominee **Gareth Owen** (Playhouse/Broadway's Come From Away), Sound Designer; **John Clancy**, Orchestrations; **Telsey + Company, Rachel Hoffman, CSA**, Casting; **Gabriel Greene**, Dramaturg; and **Martha Donaldson**, Stage Manager.

"What a gift to have assembled such an extraordinary cast and creative team to launch this new musical," said **Ashley**. "I can't think of a better way to wrap up our season than with Joe and David's stunning work about a truly remarkable woman."

## About Diana

In 1981, an assistant kindergarten teacher married the Prince of Wales and, overnight, became the most famous woman in the world. But behind the fairytale, there was a troubled marriage and a young woman struggling to find her voice. Facing an entrenched monarchy and unprecedented media scrutiny, Princess Diana surprises everyone – including herself – as she grows into a global phenomenon and manages to change the world. Playhouse Artistic Director Christopher Ashley and the writers behind the Tony Award-winning musical *Memphis* create this highly-anticipated musical, featuring an epic and sweeping contemporary score.

## **FACT SHEET**

**WHAT:** Diana

Book and Lyrics by Joe DiPietro Music and Lyrics by David Bryan Directed by Christopher Ashley Choreographed by Kelly Devine Music Supervision by Ian Eisendrath

**WHEN:** February 19 – April 7, 2019

Tue/Wed at 7:30pm; Thu/Fri/Sat at 8pm; Sun at 7pm; Sat/Sun at 2pm

WHERE: Mandell Weiss Theatre, La Jolla Playhouse

2910 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, CA 92037

**WHO:** Scenic Design: David Zinn Costume Design: William Ivey Long

Lighting Design: Natasha Katz Sound Design: Gareth Owen

Orchestrations: John Clancy Casting: Telsey+Company, Rachel Hoffman CSA

Dramaturgy: Gabriel Greene Stage Manager: Martha Donaldson

Cast: Camilla Parker Bowles Erin Davie

Diana Jeanna de Waal
Prince Charles Roe Hartrampf
Queen Elizabeth Judy Kaye

Ensemble: Holly Ann Butler, Taylor Coleman, Eric Coles, Bruce Dow, Evan Duff, Madison Noelle Hall, Shaye B Hopkins, Nicole Javier, Justin Keats, Gareth Keegan, Nathan Lucrezio, Tomas Matos,

Allyn Moriyon, Lauren Livia Muehl, Jamen Nanthakumar, Enrico Nassi, Katheryne Penny, Lindsay Roberts, Tara Shoemaker, Bethany Ann Tesark

TICKETS: (858) 550-1010; LaJollaPlayhouse.org

**SPONSORS:** Morrison & Foerster; US Bank; Show Imaging;

Gary & Marlene Cohen; The Dow Divas; Wendy Gillespie & Karen Tanz;

Frank Marshall & Kathy Kennedy; Dr. Howard & Barbara Milstein; Becky Moores

Recipient of an Edgerton Foundation New Play Award

La Jolla Playhouse is a place where artists and audiences come together to create what's new and next in the American theatre, from Tony Award-winning productions, to imaginative programs for young audiences, to interactive experiences outside our theatre walls. Currently led by 2017 Tony Award-winning Artistic Director Christopher Ashley and Managing Director Debby Buchholz, the Playhouse was founded in 1947 by Gregory Peck, Dorothy McGuire and Mel Ferrer. Internationally-renowned for the development of new plays and musicals, the Playhouse has mounted 95 world premieres, commissioned 50 new works, and sent 32 productions to Broadway – including the currently-running hit musical *Come From Away* – garnering a total of 38 Tony Awards, as well as the 1993 Tony Award for Outstanding Regional Theatre.